New Dima for xTour

This forum deals with any kind of trip optimization whether it is automatic planning or manual dispatching, refering to transport orders or service planning.
Post Reply
log-konz
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:06 am

New Dima for xTour

Post by log-konz »

Hello PTV-Team,

when we use "planBasicTour" we have the following paramters:

Code: Select all

"distanceMatrixCalculation":
[
  {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaCar",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>1,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaTruck",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>2,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaBicycle",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>3,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaCarslow",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>4,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaTruckslow",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>5,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaTruckheavy",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>6,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  },{
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaTest",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>7,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }
]
When we optimize with dimaId 1 (dimaCar), all works fine.

Now we create in "/conf/profiles" a new profile "dimaTest" with the same settings as in dimaCar.
Then we add the new profile "dimaTest" to the distanceMatrixCalculation (see above).

When we optimize the same tour with dimaCar and with dimaTest, we get two different results (order of the addresses).

Now we put in distanceMatrixCalculation the dimaTest at position 1:

Code: Select all

[
  {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaTest",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>1,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaTruck",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>2,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaBicycle",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>3,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaCarslow",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>4,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaTruckslow",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>5,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }, {
    :deleteAfterUsage=>true,
    :profileName=>"dimaTruckheavy",
    :$type=>"DistanceMatrixByRoad",
    :dimaId=>6,
    :deleteBeforeUsage=>true
  }
]

Now we get the same result as we get for dimaCar in our first Test.

So the paramter dimaId seems to be decisive for the order of the addresses in the result.

Please can you tell us what we are doing wrong?

Thanks for your help.

Edit by JCL: added codes tags for readability
Joost
Posts: 307
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:46 pm

Re: New Dima for xTour

Post by Joost »

I'm not sure what is causing the difference. reading your explanation my reaction would be that this should not be happening. I would suggest to log your request for the different situation and check the details inside. If you can figure it out please create support packages of the requets and send it for investigation to your regular support. (see http://xserver.ptvgroup.com/forum/viewt ... f=43&t=474 )

My best guess would be that you forgot to make sure the vehicle.dimaid matches the id dima you would like it to use.
Joost Claessen
Senior Technical Consultant
PTV Benelux
User avatar
Bernd Welter
Site Admin
Posts: 2564
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:28 am
Contact:

Re: New Dima for xTour

Post by Bernd Welter »

Quick question:
Are you working with search graphs? At least part 1 "why does the result differ between dimaCar (maybe with a SG) and dimaTest (no SG?)?" could be explained with that.

Furthermore the following topics should be checked:
  • Are you setting an AvailableMachineTime? If the requests do not terminate this could also lead to different results. What you could do for that: compary both dimas binary wise.
  • Are you working on a cluster (additional profile only on one machine - fallback to DEFAULT on the other one?)
Best regards
Bernd
Bernd Welter
Technical Partner Manager Developer Components
PTV Logistics - Germany

Bernd at... The Forum,LinkedIn, Youtube, StackOverflow
I like the smell of PTV Developer in the morning... :twisted:
log-konz
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:06 am

Re: New Dima for xTour

Post by log-konz »

We don´t work with a search graph.

We set a machineTime of "10".
I have now made several tests in which I changed or omitted the parameter.
But nothing has changed in the result.

We are only working on one machine.

I attached both logs.

Thank you for your help.
Attachments
XTour dimaTest.docx
xTour dimaTest
(7.34 KiB) Downloaded 285 times
XTour dimaCar.docx
xTour dimaCar
(7.34 KiB) Downloaded 298 times
log-konz
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:06 am

Re: New Dima for xTour

Post by log-konz »

Hello together,

do you have any news for us?
We can't go on without your help.

kind regards
User avatar
danper
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 8:16 am

Re: New Dima for xTour

Post by danper »

Hi,
because of the xTour behaviour is not the expected one, I can just suggest what already said by Joost: create support packages of the requests and send it for investigation to your regular support.

Best Regards,
Daniele
Daniele Perella
Solution Engineer
PTV ITALIA Logistics
Post Reply