Handling Ferries and Rail without CombinedTransportID

This forum deals with any kind of routing computation whether it is simple A:B-routing, calculation of isochrones, simple matrix computation or nearest search.

Handling Ferries and Rail without CombinedTransportID

Postby brnjic » Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:48 am

Hi,

we maintain our own geo locations for ferry ports and railway stations. Thus we are not relying on the combinedTransportIDs within PTV. What would be the best-practice scenario when calculating a route from A to B with a ferry or rail in between, without using combinedTransportIDs?

Currently we would implement it like that (for ferries):
  • calculateRoute call for the 1st segment from A to port of departure
  • calculateRoute call for the 2nd segment from port of arrival to B
  • draw the polyline for the ferry on your own on the map, to connect the two points (departure and arrival of the ferry)

Thanks and kind regards,
Manuel
Manuel Brnjic
brnjic
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:23 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Handling Ferries and Rail without CombinedTransportID

Postby Bernd Welter » Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:51 pm

Hello Manuel,

well, if you have the (x,y) of pickup and delivery ports why not just use them?
START-->Enter Ferry-->Exit Ferry-->DESTINATION

But assure that the usage of ferries is allowed on the leg Enter Ferry-->Exit Ferry.

You might now now but: you can change the routing options at each waypoint...

Best regards,
Bernd
Bernd Welter
Manager Technical Consulting & Requirement Engineering
Senior Technical Consultant Developer Components
PTV GROUP - Germany

Bernd at Youtube
User avatar
Bernd Welter
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:28 am

Re: Handling Ferries and Rail without CombinedTransportID

Postby brnjic » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:34 am

Hello Bernd,

thanks for the answer. How would it be possible to specify a routing optoin that's actually only a line between Start Ferry --> Exit Ferry?

We do not need any distance calculation between those 2 points (x,y) and only expect calculateRoute to draw a simple line between them ("Luftlinie"), not taking into account the distance in meters or kilometers. I was not able to find any setting in the routing options to specify that.

Currently we would split up our calculateRoute request into 2 requests and draw the line between Start Ferry --> Exit Ferry on our own. Same for railways..
Manuel Brnjic
brnjic
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:23 am
Location: Vienna

Re: Handling Ferries and Rail without CombinedTransportID

Postby Bernd Welter » Wed May 09, 2018 8:53 am

Not sure whether I get your requirement by 100%.

Furthermore the sentence "only expect calculateRoute to draw a simple line between them" - but xRoute doesn't paint at all.

You just need to paint a line? You need the coordinates so xMap can paint the coordinates in crow flight?

Does it make sense to use the following API method findCombinedTRansport of xLocate?

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=495&p=1305&hilit=findCombinedTransport#p1305

Best regards,
Bernd

PS: if needed try to call me today.
Bernd Welter
Manager Technical Consulting & Requirement Engineering
Senior Technical Consultant Developer Components
PTV GROUP - Germany

Bernd at Youtube
User avatar
Bernd Welter
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:28 am


Return to PTV xRouteServer