Page 1 of 1

Handling Ferries and Rail without CombinedTransportID

Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:48 am
by brnjic
Hi,

we maintain our own geo locations for ferry ports and railway stations. Thus we are not relying on the combinedTransportIDs within PTV. What would be the best-practice scenario when calculating a route from A to B with a ferry or rail in between, without using combinedTransportIDs?

Currently we would implement it like that (for ferries):
  • calculateRoute call for the 1st segment from A to port of departure
  • calculateRoute call for the 2nd segment from port of arrival to B
  • draw the polyline for the ferry on your own on the map, to connect the two points (departure and arrival of the ferry)
Thanks and kind regards,
Manuel

Re: Handling Ferries and Rail without CombinedTransportID

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:51 pm
by Bernd Welter
Hello Manuel,

well, if you have the (x,y) of pickup and delivery ports why not just use them?
START-->Enter Ferry-->Exit Ferry-->DESTINATION

But assure that the usage of ferries is allowed on the leg Enter Ferry-->Exit Ferry.

You might now now but: you can change the routing options at each waypoint...

Best regards,
Bernd

Re: Handling Ferries and Rail without CombinedTransportID

Posted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:34 am
by brnjic
Hello Bernd,

thanks for the answer. How would it be possible to specify a routing optoin that's actually only a line between Start Ferry --> Exit Ferry?

We do not need any distance calculation between those 2 points (x,y) and only expect calculateRoute to draw a simple line between them ("Luftlinie"), not taking into account the distance in meters or kilometers. I was not able to find any setting in the routing options to specify that.

Currently we would split up our calculateRoute request into 2 requests and draw the line between Start Ferry --> Exit Ferry on our own. Same for railways..

Re: Handling Ferries and Rail without CombinedTransportID

Posted: Wed May 09, 2018 8:53 am
by Bernd Welter
Not sure whether I get your requirement by 100%.

Furthermore the sentence "only expect calculateRoute to draw a simple line between them" - but xRoute doesn't paint at all.

You just need to paint a line? You need the coordinates so xMap can paint the coordinates in crow flight?

Does it make sense to use the following API method findCombinedTRansport of xLocate?

https://xserver.ptvgroup.com/forum/view ... port#p1305

Best regards,
Bernd

PS: if needed try to call me today.