Page 1 of 1

Port change in XServer2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 2:41 pm
by PaulBuechs
Hi,
we want to install XServer 2 on a different port. For this we changed the port in server.xml from 50000 to 60000 also in the xserver.conf. But by the start of the Xserver we get an error about Port 50060. This port is used by our Xterritory installation.
Is there some other file to change to get the different port up and running?

Kind regards,
Paul

Re: Port change in XServer2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:57 am
by Bernd Welter
Hi Paul,

port 60000 is reserved for Content Update Service ;-)
What is the exact error message you face?

Regards,
Bernd

Re: Port change in XServer2

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:36 pm
by PaulBuechs
Hi,
I solved it by not solving, turned off all XServer1 and started at port 50000.
Do you have a port suggestion for parallel installation of XServer1 and XServer2?

Regards,
Paul

Re: Port change in XServer2

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:49 pm
by Bernd Welter
Hello Paul,

a concrete recommendation... well... no. HIGH PORTS somewhere above 50000.
Our administrators used to define a schema which enabled them to recognize the map data via the port, e.g. something like

50010 = xMap 1.x
50030 = xRoute 1.x
00100 = Europe City TOMTOM
00200 = Mordor
so
50110 = xMap 1.x with Europe City TOMTOM
50230 = xRoute with Mordor :twisted:

Feel free to choose any proper mechanism you want and just keep in mind that xServer2 combines all modules under one apache roof... And stay away from 60000 cause this is EVIL (Content Update :evil: )

Best regards,
Bernd